On the Street Where You Live

On the Street Where You Live

In the mid-1800s, Victoria grew from a fur-trading post into a provincial capital—the jewel in British Columbia's golden crown. Meanwhile, many of the early residents, happy to leave the Hudson's Bay Company behind, followed simple trails from the fort or discovered new routes of their own. In her first book, Danda Humphreys introduced readers to some of the people who forged those pioneer pathways. Now she takes us another step back in time to the roads and railways that connected the original city's core to today's suburbs. From Saanich to Sooke, street names tell stories of intrigue and adventure: Rowland Avenue, named for the farm labourer with a sinister sideline: hangman for the HBC. Joan Crescent, where coal baron Robert Dunsmuir's widow once resided in solitary splendour in a castle called Craigdarroch. Sidney Avenue, close to where the Brethour brothers donated land for the northern terminus of the "Cordwood Express," first train to link the city with the Saanich Peninsula and the islands in the Strait of Georgia. In this second book in her On the Street Where You Live trilogy, Danda once again combines her passion for the past with a penchant for lively prose to bring you stories about Victoria's pioneers. You know the streets; now meet the people—their lives, their loves and the legends they left behind.

Download Now
Author
Publisher Heritage House Publishing Co
Release Date
ISBN 9781894384094
Pages 192 pages
Rating 4/5 (91 users)

More Books:

On the Street Where You Live
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Danda Humphreys
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000 - Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co

GET EBOOK

In the mid-1800s, Victoria grew from a fur-trading post into a provincial capital—the jewel in British Columbia's golden crown. Meanwhile, many of the early r
Miracle on Christmas Street
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Annie O'Neil
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-17 - Publisher: Hachette UK

GET EBOOK

Feel-good, funny and festive, this book is guaranteed to melt your heart this Christmas! Perfect for fans of Heidi Swain, Jo Thomas and Milly Johnson *** 'Heart
A Mrs. Miracle Christmas
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Debbie Macomber
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-01 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

GET EBOOK

COMING SOON AS A HALLMARK CHRISTMAS MOVIE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Mrs. Miracle shows an ordinary family that they are blessed beyond belief in this uplift
Miracle on 31st Street
Language: en
Pages: 122
Authors: Susan Sparks
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-22 - Publisher: Susan Sparks

GET EBOOK

Happiness is not a once a year event! Stress, unforeseen crises, commitments, aging parents, kids, money worries . . . none of it goes away. But if you manage i
Mr. Miracle
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Debbie Macomber
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-07 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

GET EBOOK

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Includes a new story by Christina Skye Beloved author Debbie Macomber celebrates the most wonderful time of the year in this heart
St. Francis and the Christmas Miracle
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Chester Wrzaszczak
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1986 - Publisher: Resource Publications (CA)

GET EBOOK

Miracle on 34th Street
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: Valentine Davies
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-14 - Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

GET EBOOK

Generations of believers in hope and goodwill have made Miracle on 34th Street a treasured part of their holiday traditions. Now in keepsake hardcover.
Picture Post
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1946 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Miracle on 133rd Street
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: Sonia Manzano
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-22 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

GET EBOOK

The day before Christmas, everyone in Jose's neighborhood seems grumpy, including his mother who is homesick for Puerto Rico, but when he and his parents return
St. Paul and Protestantism
Language: en
Pages: 171
Authors: Matthew Arnold
Categories: Christianity
Type: BOOK - Published: 1887 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK